Youtube channel trailers are mostly counter-productive and insincere

Youtube channel trailers have bothered me for a long time, but especially now since it seems Google has removed the channel count link next to a channel name on a video page that you could click on and get right to the video list, forcing me to go to the channel main page first.

But here’s the problem: Many channels have a channel trailer, and while my browser addon prevents regular autoplay, for some reason the channel trailer is excluded from that. If it’s actually what it is intended for, a channel trailer video, that might be fine, but in praxis that feature is mostly used for view-harvesting for certain videos.

The problem is not just the annoying autoplay that I don’t want: The video will be counted as viewed and added to the view history. Now that means that the video received a view, but I didn’t actually take notice of it, since I wanted to navigate to the channel’s video list anyway, and because it is now marked as watched, I very likely won’t actually watch it later either, since my history deceives me into thinking I already have. This might be a problem for channel owners who actually want people to take notice of their work, so this is ironic in a salomonic way.

UPDATE: Unbe-frickin-lievable! Now Youtube is even advertising adding a separate channel trailer for unsubscribed users. I now got that big field on my channel asking me to add one and an unnecessary summary view for subscribed users wasting space. Now I gotta figure out how to turn that new area off… if possible. Because naturally Google wouldn’t tell people to turn something off that they pushed onto them. That would have meant that they learned from the Google+ debacle.

And this happened right after I briefly considered letting the past be the past and publishing my comment activity on Google+. … Alright, no forgiveness for those who won’t learn.

Leave a Reply

